Posted by: nancykenny | June 21, 2009

I Believe in Spectacular and Magnificient Magic

I fell in love last night, got my heart broken, gave a standing ovation and ate a cookie to make it all better (not necessarily in that order).

I very rarely give standing ovations. It’s something I reserve for very special shows. Countries Shaped Like Stars is such a show. It’s been a long time since I’ve seen a show that is so moving, so honest, and so beautiful. It made me believe in magic. It made me believe that years and years ago countries really were shaped like stars and anticipation did grow on trees… All love stories should come with tin can telephones.

It also reminded me of why I wanted to be an artist in the first place. I was so blown away by this show that I needed a moment to compose myself before doing a preview pitch for No Exit Upstage at the beer tent. I hadn’t left and perhaps didn’t want to leave their little peninsula, just yet.

Emily Pearlman and Nick Di Gaetano are a powerhouse of talent and creativity. Ottawa is lucky to have them.

Be sure to also checkout Nick’s one man show, Inclement Weather, from the same crack production company, !MI CASA! It’s a great piece and perfectly suitable for the entire family.

I leave you with Countries Shaped Like Stars.


Responses

  1. […] about the opening night of No Exit Upstage; what happens when Fringe shows run long; her love for Countries Shaped Like Stars; and a handy compilation of reviews for her […]

  2. […] will recognize and whose work I absolutely admire. Richard Gélinas, Bradley Cunningham Long, Emily Pearlman, Stewart Matthews and Kate Smith. I’m not going to post their resumes here, but I am quite […]

  3. […] lot of people found me by searching for “Countries Shaped Like Stars” (which sends you to my review of the show) and “Gladstone Theatre Ottawa” (which puzzled me because I went through 5 Google […]

  4. […] to need all their volunteers for a secret ice cream experiment…) I wanted to see the amazing Inclement Weather/Countries Shaped Like Stars again when it was presented at the GCTC, but couldn’t afford the $20. I offered my services […]

  5. […] from the Belly of a Whale Countries Shaped Like Stars broke my fucking heart and then put it back together with glitter and cookie dough. There’s […]

  6. […] need all their volunteers for a secret ice cream experiment…)  I wanted to see the amazing Inclement Weather/Countries Shaped Like Stars again when it was presented at the GCTC, but couldn’t afford the $20.  I offered my services […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

