Posted by: nancykenny | September 19, 2009

Live It Out / Gimme Sympathy

By Metric

On the day we were supposed to leave
You changed your mind at the station
You had a nice apartment
There was a good bar downstairs
Your old friend worked there

I’ll go anyway, I’ll go anyway
They won’t refund the ticket
It’s a good story

But I don’t want to live it alone
Crash to take a chance
I wanna live it out
I know I’m already dead
No concrete adversity
Only traps of our own actions
How we wanted it to be
Now I’m never gonna see you again
You turned off

Vertabrae by vertebrae
Roll your way out of a coma
Look up, the nurse is smiling
What luck, the nurse is me
Your old body is dead
Your body’s dead, you’re a word instead
In my sleep I repeat it
It’s a good story

But I don’t want to live it alone
Crash to take a chance
We were gonna live it out
Look at you, you’re already dead
How will you remember me
Digging ditches out of boredom
Said you could never leave
Now you’re never gonna be here again
You checked out

Hope, I’ll live it out

Get hot
Get too close to the flame
Wild open space
Talk like an open book
Sign me up
Got no time to take a picture
I’ll remember someday
All the chances we took

We’re so close to something better left unknown
We’re so close to something better left unknown

I can feel it in my bones
Gimme sympathy
After all this is gone
Who would you rather be
The Beatles or The Rolling Stones?
Oh seriously
You’re gonna make mistakes, you’re young
Come on baby play me something,
Like: Here Comes the Sun

Don’t go
Stay with the all unknown
Stay away from the hooks
All the chances we took

We’re so close to something better left unknown
We’re so close to something better left unknown

I can feel it in my bones
Gimme sympathy
After all this is gone
Who would you rather be
The Beatles or The Rolling Stones?
Oh seriously
You’re gonna make mistakes, you’re young
Come on baby play me something,
Like: Here Comes the Sun


Leave a Reply

Categories

