Posted by: nancykenny | March 11, 2010

Death and Taxes

There are only two certainties in life and for some reason my immediate family has dived right into both of them.  A few months ago, I talked about my mother’s work with death.  Now, I’m going to bring up another aspect of the family business and that’s taxes.

My mother has always been an accounting wiz and that gene was obviously passed on to my sister, the financial planner.  I know I seem like a bit of a black sheep in this family, what with my artsy tendencies and everything, but in my defense math was actually my best subject in school (I even did better than my mother and my sister – shhhhh!)  The thing is, I just never cared about it much and my mother will be more than happy to tell you that I still don’t.  That said, like everyone else, I can’t avoid numbers forever and eventually I do have to settle in and do my taxes.

So instead of finishing my taxes, I thought the best way to procrastinate some more is by writing a blog post about doing your taxes.  This post is therefore an introduction to a series on taxes for artist that comes by special request of one Sterling Lynch.

Please note that although I have taken workshops on tax preparation for artists, I am in no way an expert and that everything I share with you should be carefully looked through by someone who actually knows what they are talking about.

Enjoy!


Responses

  1. Fantastic! Bring it on!

  2. Woot! Much appreciated, Nancy. Now, who should I encourage to blog on book-keeping….

  3. Hello Nancy, my favorite tool for making sense of tax deductions and things that I spend money on that might not actually be deductible but that I should know where the $$ is going toward is Performertrack. In seconds I can run a report on my income and expenses and send it on over to my preparer and we then go over what is realistic and needed. I then go over this with my financial planner to see if what I am spending money on is getting a good return. I’d rather use the $ I make toward a financial planner when rather than to a bookeeper when I can do it myself which I think is easy and responsible at the same time. You might want to take a listen to their webinars. I’ve done them and their seminars and it’s been a great thing for me. I blog a little here, but I really am on the fast track with Performertrack so it’s not so active as yours. Glad I found yours.Hope spring is finding you in Ottawa.

  4. […] of Plans I know that I said I was going to write a post on taxes, but things have been evolving at a very rapid pace.  I don’t have time to talk about it […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

