Posted by: nancykenny | March 13, 2011

I Can Be Bought

In the past, when I wasn’t working I was usually on employment insurance. All that ended in early January, coincidentally right around the time I started rehearsals for Little Martyrs. You could say that I’ve been a contract worker ever since.

This is definitely a new situation for me, having absolutely no guaranteed income coming in, but it’s not a bad thing. My focus is shifting to projects that really interest me and, somehow, the work is coming my way. Thanks to the work I did as an intern last year at the Great Canadian Theatre Company, I was offered a small audience development project (a topic that many of you regular readers to this blog know absolutely fascinates me). And a two week marketing job last summer with Odyssey Theatre has led to a full-time contract that starts tomorrow until the end of July.

The beauty of it all is that these contracts still offer me an incredible amount of flexibility. If I had to choose between more money and the flexibility to work from home, flexibility will win every time. I’m not an office girl. I’m a mover, a shaker… a bit of a cliche too apparently. It’s 6:30 pm on a Sunday and I am all alone inside the GCTC because that’s when I have the drive and the time to work.

I’ve always been an odd one.

Responses

  1. […] That being said, it’s not all gravy and until farily recently (I’ve got a steady gig now), 2010 was a tough year to be a contract worker. Fortunately, I had enough saved to survive the longer than usual dry spell without incurring debt. If you are going to pursue this lifestyle, you have to be prepared to save during the times of plenty so you have enough to support yourself during the lean times. In the past, when I wasn't working I was usually on employment insurance. All that ended in early January, coincidentally right around the time I started rehearsals for Little Martyrs. You could say that I've been a contract worker ever since. This is definitely a new situation for me, having absolutely no guaranteed income coming in, but it's not a bad thing. My focus is shifting to projects that really interest me and, somehow, the work is comi … Read More […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

