Posted by: nancykenny | January 4, 2012

…in with the New?

Gah! I looked up what I had written down as New Year’s Resolutions from last year and I only accomplished one (ONE!) of them.  And by one, I mean I half-assed two of them to give me a grand total of one.  The two: 1) I did lose weight, though it wasn’t through some exercise plan but through a wheat and yeast intolerance (and I’m reminded that I did not end up wearing a midriff in Roller Derby Saved My Soul – mostly because I had no costume budget and just used one of my t-shirts instead) and 2) I worked in front of cameras, but only on student films.

I didn’t get out of debt, in fact I got more into it. I stopped running. I stopped working out. I didn’t work professionally in French, though I did finish a translation into French at the eleventh hour.  I didn’t travel.  Oh alright, I did learn things, so make that two resolutions accomplished.

But damn…  Life is what happens when you’re busy making other plans, I guess.

The sad things is, I don’t even know what I would like to see happen in 2012. I have vague notions, but nothing concrete.  Then again, maybe that’s a good thing? I seem to have trouble sticking to a plan.  I think I need to sit down with someone to help me outline what I would like to accomplish this year.  Someone who will force me to be more specific and break my goals down into small manageable portions.

Any takers?

Responses

  1. I’m good at goal setting stuff! Let me know if you want help!

    • Would love to! I’ll send you a FB msg. Plus it would be nice to just get together and catch up!

  2. How on earth can you say you didn’t travel? You traveled constantly!

    Look up setting SMART goals. That’ll help with breaking things down. I worked on that nearly two years ago and it changed my life.

    • Hey Jess, I meant a nice trip. One where I get to stay in a hotel or something like that, for pleasure and not business 😉

  3. Bah…who else do you need to resolve things with, other than wonderful YOU? We really do have day-to-day obligations that keep us occupied and distracted from many goals that we make for an entire year in front of us. It’s human nature to set the bar high. Good! It’s also human nature to try to enjoy the experience as things unfold the way they are meant to. Very good! From the audience perspective, you certainly had a busy 2011. If it were any different, would we have had the pleasure of enjoying what you brought to us? Keep doing what makes you feel inspired…because you help the rest of us to “feel” and see things from a new perspective, as is needed.

    Hmmmm…what’s that expression? “Do one thing each day that scares you.” I’m guessing that you’re braver than most…2012 could be an exciting year all around!

  4. This is the yoga teacher in me talking…

    Taking resolutions to change is implying there is something wrong with you and that is simply not true. Take to resolution to live this year with gratitude. Good things will come.

    It’s easier to focus on the negative (and that’s where the new year’s resolutions come from) but it’s a lot more constructive to focus on gratitude and how your life is beautiful and meaningful right now.

    • Beautifully well-said, Mishka!

  5. I agree that setting SMART (google that acronym) goals and objectives that will get you there is key. A lot of your resolutions were things that were at least partly out of your control, difficult to measure, etc.
    I had typed out a whole example, but it got eaten. 😛

  6. 1: Decide what you want out of life, at least in the next few years. Make a list. Be practical but don’t aim low. “Become a millionaire” is probably not practical. “Not die” is aiming low. “Become debt-free” is somewhere nicely in the middle.

    2: Rank the items on your list in terms of importance to you, from 1 to n, where 1 is the most important and n is the least.

    3: Rank the items on your list in terms of ease of accomplisment (based on your gut feel, if nothing else), from 1 to n, where 1 is easiest and n is hardest.

    4: Find the item or items that show up highest on both lists (add the 2 scores together for each item, and find the lowest total). It, or they, are most important and (relatively speaking) easiest for you to accomplish.

    5: For each item from 4 (above), take a blank piece of paper and put a little icon of you (stick figure) at the top left, labelled “Me Today”, and an icon for your “new state” at the bottom right (give it an appropriate label). Then start at the top left and try to think of a small step that you could take that would get you closer to the new state. Remember: small step! Draw that first step (no extra points for being a good artist, unless that’s your new state!). Now assume that you’ve accomplished that first step and draw the next step that you’d need to take. Keep each step small… you’ve got lots of room on that piece of paper! Repeat until you’ve gotten all the way to your desired new state.

    6: Give yourself a deadline for completing that first small step. If you kept it appropriately small, we should be talking days or at most a few weeks, not months or years. Write the date below/beside the step.

    7: Every time you complete a step, check it off and repeat 6 (above) so that the next step now has a deadline associated with it. If you fail to complete a step by the deadline, take some time to decide if you really care about reaching your new state or not. Maybe it wasn’t as important as you thought? If it was and still is, redouble your efforts to meet the new deadline you give it.

    Anyway, that’s what I would do. I like having lists, and goals, and accomplishing stuff on a regular basis. I’m currently working on my 2nd novel, and writing the 1st one (“Game Over”, http://www.amazon.com/Game-Over-ebook/dp/B005IZWPPK/ref=sr_1_5?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1325800552&sr=1-5) was one of the most rewarding experiences I’ve ever had. But it was also a lot of work, and I would never have finished it if I hadn’t set a whole lot of small goals to get me there.

    I hope this helps, or at the very least, provided you with a few minutes of entertainment!

    P.S. Anyone who could write and perform your Roller Derby show should never doubt that she can accomplish amazing things!!

    • Steps 3 and 4 of your method have never occurred to me before! The Virgo in me loves this!


Leave a Reply

Categories

